Empire Parliamentary Association (1911) changed to Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (1948)


The CPA was founded as the Empire Parliamentary Association in 1911, with its first branches being Australia, Canada, Newfoundland, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom, the latter branch administering the Association as a whole.    In 1948 the Association changed its name to the current Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, and invited all branches to participate in the organisation’s administration.

Photo:  CPA conference, Isle of Man, October 1984
CPA conference, Isle of Man, October 1984


The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), previously known as the Empire Parliamentary Association, is an organisation which works to support good governance, democracy and human rights.  The official publication of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is The Parliamentarian, the Journal of Commonwealth Parliaments which was first published in 1919.


The current Chair of the CPA Executive Committee is Hon. Emilia Lifaka MP, Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly of Cameroon. Previous Chairpersons have included Hon. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Speaker of Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban of Bangladesh (2014–2017),  who succeeded Rt Hon. Sir Alan Haselhurst MP (2011–2014), formerly Chairman of Ways and Means of the UK Parliament.



Since its launch, the Declaration on Parliamentary Openness has been formally endorsed by the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)’s Parliamentary Assembly, the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA), and the First Summit of Legislative Presidents of the Americas organized by the Organization of American States (OAS). It has also been endorsed by a number of national and subnational legislatures and parliamentarians.
 Declaration on Parliamentary Openness


The Charter brings together the values and aspirations which unite the Commonwealth – democracy, human rights and the rule of law – in a single, accessible document.   The Charter expresses the commitment of member states to the development of free and democratic societies and the promotion of peace and prosperity to improve the lives of all peoples of the Commonwealth.   The Charter also acknowledges the role of civil society in supporting the goals and values of the Commonwealth.
Commonwealth – CPA Charter

The organisation administers the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP), a network across the Commonwealth which promotes greater representation for women in Parliament, the CPA Small Branches network, representing parliaments and legislatures with populations below 500,000 people, and the Commonwealth Youth Parliament, an annual gathering of young people hosted by a Commonwealth Parliament.
Government CPA – Commonwealth


The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association – The CPA was founded in 1911 at a meeting of Heads of Government in Westminster Hall as the then-Empire Parliamentary Association and its affairs were administered by the UK Branch. The original members were Australia, Canada, Newfoundland, New Zealand, South Africa and the United Kingdom.
1911 – South Africa – Commonwealth Parliamentary Association


Not so long ago – Cyril Ramaphosa paid  a courtesy call on Her Majesty the Queen at the Windsor Castle during a working visit to London to attend the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM 2018) taking place on 19-20 April 2018.   This is the place of “gold”.   Where did they get the gold?   Pictures of a puzzle will fit in.
British rules, Commonwealth, Trustlands


George Soros financed the constitution of South Africa, parliament, black sash and legislations.  (others as well)
Suid-Afrika Parlement /South Africa Parliament

A white paper of SA Parliament – most of the ethnic peoples are not part of the so-called rainbow nation (30++ millions with the khoisan and others in the CPA’s)
Ooreenkomste – Agreements

December 2018
Traditional leaders South Africa: 8840

What perks are there for the traditional leaders
Ramaphosa’s new cabinet, mp’s and perks and traditional leaders

It is also written in their constitution.
South Africa: Traditional leaders

4 gedagtes oor “Empire Parliamentary Association (1911) changed to Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (1948)”

Laat 'n boodskap

Verskaf jou besonderhede hieronder of klik op 'n logo om in te teken:

WordPress.com Logo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by WordPress.com. Log Out /  Verander )

Google photo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Google. Log Out /  Verander )

Twitter picture

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Twitter. Log Out /  Verander )

Facebook photo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Facebook. Log Out /  Verander )

Connecting to %s