IAEA – International Atomic Energy Agency

The Board examines and makes recommendations to the General Conference on the IAEA’s financial statements, programme and budget. It considers applications for membership, approves safeguards agreements and the publication of the IAEA’s safety standards. It also appoints the Director General of the IAEA, with the approval of the General Conference.

IAEA Banner


The Statute of the IAEA was approved on 23 October 1956 by the Conference on the Statute of the International Atomic Energy Agency, which was held at the Headquarters of the United Nations. It came into force on 29 July 1957.


The treaties relating to the work of the IAEA cover a wide range of subjects, from the organization of the Agency’s own work to nuclear safety, nuclear security, safeguards and nuclear non-proliferation, and civil liability for nuclear damage. They fall into three categories: treaties under IAEA auspices; agreements to which the IAEA is a party; and IAEA-related treaties.

Treaties under IAEA auspices are international agreements negotiated and concluded by IAEA Member States with the support of the Agency’s Secretariat. The IAEA Director General serves as depositary for these treaties. The IAEA Office of Legal Affairs, acting on behalf of the Director General, holds the original texts of the treaties, receives treaty instruments from States seeking to join these treaties and notifies States and the United Nations of the official status of the treaties.

Examples of this category of treaties are the Convention on Nuclear Safety, the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) and its Amendment, as well as a number of conventions on civil liability for nuclear damage.

Agreements to which the IAEA is a party include those international agreements the IAEA has concluded in its own right as an international organization with individual States or other international organizations. These treaties confer rights and obligations on the IAEA. Notable examples include the IAEA Headquarters agreement with Austria, the IAEA relationship agreement with the United Nations, all safeguards agreements and all agreements relating to technical cooperation concluded by the IAEA with individual States.

IAEA-related treaties include international agreements that were not concluded under IAEA auspices and to which the IAEA is not a party but that are relevant to the Agency’s work and may envisage roles and responsibilities for the IAEA. Examples include the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), as well as regional non-proliferation treaties.



The Board of Governors is one of the two policy-making bodies of the IAEA, along with the annual General Conference of IAEA Member States.

The Board generally meets five times per year: in March and June, twice in September (before and after the General Conference) and in November.


Board Members for 2019-2020

The 35 Board Members for 2019-2020 are Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Mongolia, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, Thailand, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America and Uruguay.


2 gedagtes oor “IAEA – International Atomic Energy Agency”

Laat 'n boodskap

Verskaf jou besonderhede hieronder of klik op 'n logo om in te teken:

WordPress.com Logo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by WordPress.com. Log Out /  Verander )

Twitter picture

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Twitter. Log Out /  Verander )

Facebook photo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Facebook. Log Out /  Verander )

Connecting to %s