G + / GOOGLE

 

Neem maar kennis en verander vroegtyd na ander adresse …
 
 
It’s been a long road, but Google+ is finally about to kiss this world goodbye. The polarizing social network is losing its consumer version very soon, and now we’ve finally got specific dates. The consumer version of Google+ ends on April 2nd, 2019.
 
After first announcing a fairly gracious timeline for shutting the platform down, Google+ saw its sunset sped up dramatically after a second security bug was revealed and impacted millions. Clearly, Google is wasting no time in clearing Google+ off of the web.
 
Revealed today on the company’s support pages, Google+ is shutting down for consumers on April 2nd, 2019. As originally stated, Google is closing the platform due to “low usage” and the “challenges involved with maintaining a successful product that meets… expectations.”
 
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time.
 
Google says that some features tied to Google+ will be killed off as soon as next week. on February 4th, the platform will no longer accept new profiles, pages, communities, or events. Blogger will also drop Google+ comments on this date, and that functionality will start being removed from other sites on March 7th.
 
Also in March, Google says that Google+ Community moderators/owners will be able to gain additional tools for downloading data, including the author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.
 
Finally, on April 2nd, the consumer version of Google+ will be shutdown entirely. Unless you have a G Suite account, you’ll no longer be able to access Google+, and data will start being deleted. This includes all of your posts, pages, and photos and videos that aren’t already backed up to Google Photos. The APIs and Google+ sign-in buttons that Google started disabling this year will also cease to function.
 
If you were an avid Google+ user, you’ll probably want to take the time to download all of your data from the platform. We’ve got a handy tutorial available for that, and Android Police points out a third-party option aptly named Google+ Exporter which promises a “well-documented structure.”

 
Google announced last fall it’s killing off Google+ because of the social network’s laughably “low usage” and “challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations,” plus revelations of serious security vulnerabilities.
 
In a blog post and related support page that went live today, Google explained how the shutdown will unfold, and the important part for most ‘consumer’ users is this: they’re gonna delete all your posts, photos, videos, and comments, starting on April 2.
 
From today’s official Google blog post:
 
In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations. We want to thank you for being part of Google+ and provide next steps, including how to download your photos and other content.
 
On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
 
 
The process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts, Google+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their Google+ account via activity log and some consumer Google+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is deleted.
 
As early as February 4th, you will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events. See the full FAQ for more details and updates leading up to the shutdown.
 
If you’re a Google+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your Google+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community. Learn more
 
 
If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons. Learn more
 
 
If you’ve used Google+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019. 

Today, Google’s Vic Gundotra announced that he would be leaving the company after eight years. The first obvious question is where this leaves Google+, Gundotra’s baby and primary project for the past several of those years.
 
What we’re hearing from multiple sources is that Google+ will no longer be considered a product, but a platform — essentially ending its competition with other social networks like Facebook and Twitter.
 
Advertisements

Lewer kommentaar

Verskaf jou besonderhede hieronder of klik op 'n logo om in te teken:

WordPress.com Logo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by WordPress.com. Log Out /  Verander )

Google photo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Google. Log Out /  Verander )

Twitter picture

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Twitter. Log Out /  Verander )

Facebook photo

Jy lewer kommentaar met jou rekening by Facebook. Log Out /  Verander )

Connecting to %s